Geography Speaker Series

Speaker series offers informal talks and discussions on various geographical and environmentally related issues. Please contact  geoenvironment@uwo.ca for more information.

2021- 2022 Schedule

Speaker: Masters Student Slideshow
Topic: Masters students present their research on a wide variety of topics
Date: Friday, September 24
Time: 3-4pm


Speaker: Alemu Gonsamo
Topic: Terrestrial ecosystem productivity and phenology response to global change during the satellite era
Date: Friday, October 15
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Speaker: Tricia Stadnyk
Topic: What +1.5oC Average Global Warming Means: Canada’s Water Supply under a Changing Climate
Date: Friday, October 22
Time: 3-4pm, SSC 2032
Format: In person and Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Speaker: Nigel Roulet
Topic: Northern Peatlands, Carbon Cycling and Climate Change
Date: Friday, November 19
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom option to watch as a group in SSC 2032, pw: SPEAKER


Professional Workshop: 'How to Write a Successful Grant Application: Advice for New Investigators'
Host: Prof. Jason Gilliland 
Date: Friday, December 3
Time: 2:30-3:30pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Professional Workshop: 'Effective Conference Presentations'
Host: Prof. Jed Long 
Date: Friday, January 14
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Speaker: Michelle Daigle
Topic: For Place & Movement: The Politics & Analytics of Indigenous Water Relations
Date: Friday, January 21
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Speaker: Nicole Latulippe
Topic: Maanjiwe Nendamowinan (The Gathering of Minds): Connecting Indigenous Placemakers in Toronto
Date: Friday, January 28
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Professional Workshop: 'CV Preparation and Presentation' 
Host: Prof. Jamie Voogt and Assistant Professor Jin Lee 
Date: Friday, February 4


Speaker: Julia Baird
Topic: Water resilience endorsement as a lever for system change
Date: Friday, February 11
Time: 3-4pm
Format: Zoom, pw: SPEAKER


Professional Workshop: 'Work/Life Balance'
Host: Prof. Chantelle Richmond
Date: Friday, March 4


Speaker: Sheryl-Ann Simpson
Date: Friday, March 11